top of page
  • Writer's pictureDaytona Sayers

Multiple dream careers - can they ALL become a reality?

So, you know how all through your teenage years people ask you what you want to be or what career you'll do and a lot of the time teenagers don't really know? Some lucky people know exactly what they want to be, others have an answer based on something they're good at or they think they need to pick something their parents want them to do, either way they normally have an answer to the question even if they're not 100% sure or that's not what happens in the end, I had no idea. I used to dread that question because when I answered "I don't know" that answer was shocking to most people - although I don't know why, I thought it was natural to not know what you want to do as a teen, it normal changes anyway. But people used to say things like "come on, there must be something you think you'd like" and no, there wasn't anything that naturally popped into my head. I mean sure, I could have come up with an answer if I forced it but that didn't feel genuine, if I had to force it then it wasn't really "my dream career". So in the end I answered a vet (as I liked pets), I then switched to a translator (as I'm bilingual and it seemed like that was what I should do), there was a time when I considered a career in psychology (as I wanted to help young people with mental health issues) and at some point for a while I thought being a air hostess would be interesting (as I wanted to travel). My reasoning behind these answers were just random ideas, forced options that I thought I had when truth is I had no idea what I wanted to do, I thought because I wasn't passionate about anything, there was nothing calling to me, that I didn't have a clue, I remember thinking 'I wish someone would push me to do something,' 'I wish my parents had a dream career they wanted me to do' or 'I wish I had a gift or a talent that I could do as a career', but I wasn't born with any talent and I didn't develop any, also I wouldn't change my parents for the world I know I'm very fortunate to have parents that wanted me to decide and would support my decision.


I've only recently learnt the real reason I thought I didn't have a clue, and it's not because I'm older and I've had work experienced and found a job I love is also not because I've found something I love/am good at now, it's because it just wasn't for me. The whole choosing one thing to do with your life, choosing 1 career, it's not what I wanted. I didn't know what I wanted to do because I thought I could only choose one thing, I couldn't choose so I didn't.


Here I am at 22, with no career, no uni degree but I think I finally have a plan. And it feels very good. I didn't want to do just one thing for the rest of my life and that's okay. I want to be a photographer, a baker, a writer, a small business owner for my handmade items (blankets, stickers, mugs, prints, planners, and more!) and I'll probably have a part-time or full-time job too (probably not related to any of my hobbies). As well as that I want to try my hand at being a blogger and a Youtuber. It might seem a lot, and it is, but I don't want to stop doing any of them, I want to work hard, I want to do the things I love for a living. And I'm working towards achieving that step by step, slowly but I don't see why I can't get there (and I'm not a very confident person).


So if your dream is a little different than others, go for it, you don't have to fit into a category!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page